jump to navigation


The Baylor Journalism, Public Relations & New Media department offers more than $200,000 in annual scholarship funds to students. An additional $40,000 is set aside for incoming freshman and transferring journalism majors. The amount offered in scholarships is more than any other department in the College of Arts & Sciences.

Current journalism majors must submit applications with all required material by March 6, 2020. Incoming freshman and transfer students have until March 6, 2020. All applications are available in December.

Other scholarship deadlines are in the spring, but students should apply as soon as possible. To apply, a 2.5 GPA is required. Recipients are announced at the annual spring banquet in April.

For more information, students should contact Dr. Mia Moody-Ramirez, chair of the JPRNM scholarship committee.

Scholarship Application for High School Students

Scholarship Application for Current Students

Available Scholarships include: (Note: you do not have to apply for a specific scholarship).
Al Quinn Scholarship
Baylor Journalism Department Scholarship
Balfour Publishing Yearbook Editor Scholarship
Frank Burkhalter Scholarship
Carmage Walls Scholarship
C.D. Johnson Scholarship
David Cheavens Scholarship
E.S. James Baptist/Standard Scholarship
Fentress Scholarship
Elizabeth and Russell Hallberg Scholarship
Headliners Club Scholarship
J.R. Kilgore Scholarship
David McHam Scholarship
Hope Ridings Miller Scholarship
Harry and Frances Provence Scholarship
Tommy West Journalism Scholarship
Sam Wood Scholarship
Taylor Publishing Scholarship
Wilson Fielder Jr. Scholarship
Willie Foster Scholarship
Adrian Vaughn Scholarship

This website offers information on each scholarship.

Please note the scholarship selection committee will select an appropriate scholarship for each student.

Scholarships will be announced at the Journalism Awards Banquet in April.