The International Association for the Psychology of Religion (IAPR) jury announced the winner of the IAPR 2017 Godin prize: Wade Rowatt, professor at Baylor University. The Godin prize is awarded once every four years to recognize senior scholars for their excellence in the scientific study of the psychology of religion. 

Wade Rowatt completed his Ph.D. in experimental psychology (social-personality specialization) at the University of Louisville (1997) and his B.A. in psychology and philosophy at William Jewell College (1991). Throughout his research and academic career, he has been focused almost exclusively on psychology of religion. With his students and collaborators, he has developed an important research program on religion and prejudice that advanced much further, both theoretically and methodologically, our knowledge on a topic that is both classic for the field and socially important today. He has also previous and ongoing work on the psychology of humility. Overall, this work led to more than 50 publications, in journals and books in both psychology of religion and personality/social psychology; these publications have been highly cited. Finally, Dr. Rowatt has been a mentor of several Ph.D. students who continue to serve the field today as academic faculty (in 2014, he thus received the Mentoring Award of APA Division 36). He has also served the field and the community by assuming several responsibilities: founder and chair for many years of the Psychology of religion and spirituality preconference at the Society for Personality and Social Psychology Annual Convention, as well as associate editor of the Archives for Psychology of Religion (2012-2016) and The International Journal for the Psychology of Religion (since 2017).

Dr. Rowatt will attend the next IAPR conference at Hamar and deliver a keynote speech on his work. Congratulations, Dr. Wade Rowatt!