Baylor to initiate 24 students into Phi Beta Kappa honor society

By Randy Fiedler

The Baylor University Chapter (Zeta of Texas) of Phi Beta Kappa will initiate 24 new members on Nov. 19, 2020. The traditional initiation ceremony in Armstrong Browning Library has been canceled this fall because of COVID-19 concerns.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest scholastic honor society and the first American society to have a Greek-letter name. The first chapter was founded on Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va.

The Baylor University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa was chartered in 1976 and is one of only 11 chapters in the state of Texas. It includes more than 90 current faculty and staff members at the university.

Fall 2020 initiates, listed with their majors, include:

Leah E. Ash (International studies/Russian)

Ethan Bryant (Classics)

Grayson Elizabeth Danciu (English)

Amanda Davis (Biology)

Kailey Davis (University Scholars/Pre-med)

Emily Dunn (Biology)

Rutger Fury (Biology)

Irina Grigoryeva (Economics)

Justin Gerald Harder (Biology)

Caroline Ann Hughes (University Scholars/Pre-med)

Alexander Thomas Kietzman (Biochemistry/Philosophy)

Sarah Kim (Biology)

Kennedy Janae Kinnard (Political science)

Jamie Nicole LeVie (Medical humanities)

Madeleine Nelson (University Scholars/Theatre arts)

Jorawar Sandhu (Biology)

Emily Marie Schultz (Biology)

Mary Michaela Scott (University Scholars/Pre-law)

Lillian Tia (Biology)

Kara Elaine Warren (Biochemistry)

Jennifer Christi Winn (Biology)

Madison Woodford (Medical humanities)

Ryan Wong (Biochemistry)

Benjamin Jackson Young (Religion)

Leave a Reply