Instant Impact

News from Baylor School of Education

Baylor School of Education Prepares Leaders [1/12/2015]


KrysBlogSeveral Baylor School of Education (SOE) graduates are serving as elected president or president-elect of statewide associations that serve educators or educational administrators. Other Baylor SOE alumni hold executive leadership roles at statewide organizations for educators. (If you know of additional Baylor SOE alumni in statewide or national leadership roles, please email us at


Dr. Krystal Goree, BSEd ’78, MSEd ’96, PhD ’11, (pictured above) is the 2014-15 president of the Texas Directors of Field Experiences (TDFE). Goree is a clinical faculty member in the Baylor School of Education and director of the SOE’s Office of Professional Practice.

Belinda Neal news photo 2014.tif copyDr. Belinda Neal, EdD ’05, is the 2014-15 president for the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). She has been on the board since 2007. TEPSA has more than 5,800 members who direct the activities of 2.5 million children. Neal is assistant superintendent at Lindale ISD.

Pintavalle-SquareRita Elrod Pintavalle, BSEd ’90, is the 2014-15 president of the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP), the largest association for principals in the nation. Pintavalle was the High School Principal of the Year for Region 11 while serving as principal of Kennedale High School from 2006 until last year, when she moved to Kennedale district offices to become district principal of discipline and discretionary grants.

Margaret-SquareMargaret Thomson, BA Elem Ed ’73, is the president of the Texas Association for the Improvement of Reading (TAIR), serving for a two-year term that will extend from 2015-2017. Thomson is a senior lecturer in the Baylor School of Education.



Border-SquareDr. Kenneth Border, EdD ’04, is president-elect of the Texas Middle School Association (TMSA) for 2014-15 and will then serve as president. TMSA is the state’s premiere association for middle-level educators, representing more than 10,000 educator. Border became superintendent of Shallowater ISD on Jan. 5. He had been assistant superintendent since 2014 and was a middle school principal from 2006 to 2014.

Zipperlen-SquareDr. Marlene Zipperlen, MSEd ’74, SPEC ’82, EdD ’02, is president elect of the Texas Association of Teacher Educators (TxATE). Zipperlen is the dean of the College of Education at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. She is also an experienced educator in K-12, having served as superintendent of schools for Clifton ISD.

Executive Directors:

about_diana_08Dr. Diana Everett, MSPE ’78, is executive director of the Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (TAHPERD) and has been with the nonprofit organization since 1999.

Turner-SquareDr. Jeff Turner, BSEd ’77, EdD ’95, is executive director of the Texas Association of Suburban/Mid-Urban Schools (TAS/MUS), a position he took over in 2014 after retiring as superintendent of Coppell ISD.


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.