Letterwinner Shoutouts

We welcome the opportunity to highlight the accomplishments of our letterwinners and happily celebrate in their (your!) successes.  If you have a personal recognition you would like to share with us, please send us an email and tell us about it.  Join us as we congratulate these letterwinners on their noteworthy accomplishments.

Maj. Gen. Joel Carey- Football 1991

Baylor University recently announced the recipients of the 2023 Baylor Alumni Awards, which honor individuals who embody the distinctive mission of the University and their remarkable achievements.

Maj. Gen. Joel Carey (FB ’91) has been named as this year’s Baylor Alumnus of the Year.  This prestigious award is presented to a graduate who has achieved distinction through exceptional contributions to our international, national, state or community welfare.

Carey currently serves as the Director of Operations, Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration for the United States Air Force in Europe and Africa.  He oversees a directorate staff and the 603rd Air Operations Center, enabling integrated air and space operations for Europe and Africa. Carey is a pilot with more than 3,200 hours, primarily in fighter aircraft, including more than 600 combat hours. His 29-year Air Force career includes serving as commander of a fighter squadron, vice commander of two air expeditionary wings and commander of three wings, including a flying training wing, air expeditionary wing and the Air Force’s largest overseas combat wing.

Prior to his current position, Carey was the Deputy Chief of Staff Operations, Headquarters Allied Air Command at Ramstein Air Base in Germany. He has been awarded the Defense Superior Service Medal, Legion of Merit, Bronze Star Medal, Meritorious Service Medal and multiple Air Medals, among others. While a Baylor student, he played football for Coach Grant Teaff from 1988-90, was active in Kappa Omega Tau and was a member of Air Force ROTC.

A celebration honoring the 2023 Baylor Alumni Awards recipients will be held on campus Feb. 24, 2023. Click here to read more about this year’s honorees.

Kelly Shoppach- Baseball 1999-2001

Baylor Alumni Engagement will be hosting a Lunch with a Legend event featuring former Baylor catcher, Kelly Shoppach, on Thursday, February 13th, at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.  Shoppach played three seasons for Baylor Baseball from 1999-2001, where he earned All-American honors during his junior year and the Johnny Bench National Catcher of the Year Award.

For the Bears, he hit .333 with 26 HR’s and 121 RBI’s while recording a .993 career fielding percentage. In 2001, he was taken in the second round of the MLB draft by the Boston Red Sox and went on to play nine seasons in the league for six different franchises.

A native of White Settlement, Texas, Shoppach attended Brewer High School, where he was a double letterman in baseball and football. He is now in his fourth season as an assistant coach at Texas Wesleyan University, residing in Fort Worth with his wife, Jen, and their three daughters.

To purchase seats or for more information on the Lunch with a Legend event, click here.

Suzie Oelschlegel- Basketball 1976-77, Softball 1979-80

Irving ISD recently recognize storied basketball coach Suzie Oelschlegel by naming the main gymnasium at MacArthur High School, where Oelschlegel coached for 41 years, in her honor.

A native of Odem, Texas, Oelschlegel was a four-year basketball and softball letterwinner at Baylor.  

Fondly known as “Coach O” by her athletes, students and colleagues, Oelschlegel retired from Irving ISD last May after a 42-year career in the district. She coached at MacArthur High School for much of her career, where she led the Lady Cardinals to a state championship and was named National Coach of the Year for girls’ basketball in 2011. Earning her 800th career win in the fall of 2018, she ended her career with a total 885 wins.

Oelschlegel served on multiple All-Region, All-State and All-Star committees and coached numerous honorable teams and players including 13 McDonald’s All-Americans and three professional WNBA players.

Several Baylor letterwinners will be recognized at the 2023 Baylor Line Foundation’s Hall of Fame award ceremony on March 4th, being held at the Baylor Club.  

Honorees include:  David Lacy (Golf ’76-’78)- Distinguished Alumni Award, Robert Griffin III (FB 2008-11, Track 2008)- Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Grant Teaff (Honorary, Head FB Coach 1972-92)- George W. Truett Distinguished Service Award.

For additional information about this event and to view the complete list of honorees, click here

Sic ’em Baylor Letterwinners!

To return to the home page, click here.

One thought on “Letterwinner Shoutouts

  1. Drift Boss is a famous drifting game. In the game, you will have the opportunity to control your car on endless roads full of difficult turns and collisions. The game sounds simple but it takes a lot of practice to be able to drift well around corners. Join the game now to prove that you are the best racer and score the most points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *