Hall of Fame Ceremony Scheduled for October 29th

This year’s Hall of Fame and Wall of Honor Induction Ceremony will be a combined ceremony recognizing both the 2020 and 2021 inductee classes.  The banquet will be held on Friday, October 29th at 6:30pm in the Brazos Room of the Waco Convention Center. 

All-American offensive tackle Jason Smith, drafted by the St. Louis Rams with the second pick in the 2009 NFL Draft, is joined by three-time All-Americans Lenka Broosova (women’s tennis), Lars Poerschke (men’s tennis), Brette Reagan (softball) and Todd Cooper (track and field) in a 2020 Hall of Fame class that also includes volleyball All-American Anna Breyfogle and football’s Brad Goebel and Andrew Melontree. Also recognized will be Dr. Michael Attas, a former football player and retired chief of cardiology at Hillcrest Baptist Medical Center who founded the Medical Humanities program at Baylor, as the latest addition to the “B” Association Wall of Honor.

On the heels of Baylor winning its first men’s basketball national championship, a special group of five players known as “The Foundation” will be inducted into the Baylor Athletics Hall of Fame as the lone selections for the 2021 class. Part of coach Scott Drew’s first two recruiting classes, Aaron Bruce, Mamadou Diene, Henry Dugat, Curtis Jerrells and Kevin Rogers led the Bears’ historic resurrection from the bottom of the Big 12 to an NCAA Tournament bid in 2008 and the NIT finals in 2009. They were credited for being the foundational pieces that helped Baylor win the 2021 NCAA championship with an 86-70 win over Gonzaga. 

Along with the 2020 Hall of Fame class, all of the honorees will also be recognized on the field during the Oct. 30 football game against Texas at McLane Stadium.

Dress for the event is business/evening attire. Banquet seats cost $50 per person, with table sponsorships also available for $600 (Green) and $800 (Gold). Seats can be purchased by online by clicking here, or by contacting the “B” Association at 254-710-3045 or emailing Tammy_Hardin@baylor.edu.

To read more about the 2020 Hall of Fame class, click here.

To read more about The Foundation, 2021 Hall of Fame class, click here.




To return to the main page, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *