Let’s Celebrate Homecoming

wa-photoIt’s now that time of year when we all gather together for the nation’s oldest collegiate homecoming celebration – Baylor Homecoming!  What an exciting time of year to come back to Waco and renew that tradition. The weather for the weekend will be beautiful with highs in the upper 80’s, lows in the 70’s and little chance of rain. Be sure to dress appropriately (Green or Gold #StripeMcLane) and bring plenty of sunscreen for the football game on Saturday.  Don’t forget to visit our Letterwinners Tailgate on gameday. The Letterwinners Tailgate will open three hours before kickoff (11:30am) and will close 30 minutes prior.  Kickoff is scheduled for 2:30pm. 

I hope you are planning to attend the 57th Annual Athletic Hall of Fame and Wall of Honor Ceremony and Induction Banquet on Friday evening. The class of 2016 includes:  Aundre Branch (M. Basketball ’92-95), Bentley Jones (Football ’46-48), Jahnavi Parekh (Tennis ’99-01), Jonathan Perlman (Baseball ’78-79), Daniel Sepulveda (Football ’03-06), Dr. Cristin Vitek-Wafer (Softball ’02-05), Darold Williamson (Track & Field ’02-05), and Sophia Young-Malcolm (W. Basketball ’03-06). Two accomplished and distinguished individuals will receive inclusion on the association’s Wall of Honor.  They are Jay Allison (Football ’75-77) and Bill Glass Sr. (Football ’53-56).  Also being recognized at the banquet will be the 2016 Athletic Honor Teams – the 1976 and 1996 Southwest Conference Champions Men’s Indoor Track & Field teams. These teams are celebrating their 40th and 20th year anniversaries respectively.  The banquet will be held in the Brazos Ballroom at the Waco Convention Center. Time: 6:30pm. 

Baylor Homecoming is also a time when the university presents Meritorious Achievement Awards to deserving alumni. The 2016-2017 honorees include alumni who have found success in business, law, medical research and public service, with a particular emphasis on those who have dedicated their careers to helping others.  Recipients this year include current “B” Association President, Don Riddle and his wife Jenny, who will receive the Baylor Legacy Award.  The couple’s foundation has provided major gifts to fund and support numerous scholarships and facilities. After Jenny supported Don while he attended law school, Don spent the next five decades in the legal profession and was named one of the top 20 trial lawyers in America by Forbes Magazine.

We wish to congratulate Baylor Women’s Basketball player, Nina Davis, who was recently selected to represent Baylor Athletics as the “B” Association’s 2016 Homecoming Queen nominee. The winner of the contest will be named by the Baylor Chamber of Commerce on Thursday, evening October 13 during Pigskin at Waco Hall.

Finally, please remember our beloved Coach Dutch Schroeder in your prayers.  Dutch lost his wife Betty to cancer early last week. 

Sic ’em!

Walter Abercrombie
Executive Director, Baylor “B” Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *