2015: A Year of Reflection

WA1The “B” Association experienced another year of remarkable success.  As I reflect over the past twelve months, I am thankful to each of you for your loyal support and faith in me as your Executive Director. I am also thankful for the “B” Association’s Board of Directors who continue to provide excellent leadership in guiding our association in the right direction.  We are blessed to have such talented and dedicated individuals serve and lead this organization.  I am especially grateful for the leadership of “B” Association President Debbie Mann.  Debbie has worked diligently behind-the-scenes to enhance the appeal of the “B” Association to all of its members, but specifically, to its women members. As past-president in 2016, she will continue to assist the “B” Association as our representative on the university’s Board of Regents until 2017.

Much of our success in 2015 can be directly attributed to our robust schedule of social events.  These events not only provide “B” Association members with opportunities to reunite, network, and fellowship, they are also effective means by which we are able to attract new members. Below is a list of the social events we hosted 2015:

  • Lady Bears 2005 National Champions Team Reunion Dinner (Jan)
  • 20th Annual Fightin’ Bear Golf Classic (Apr)
  • 2015 Track Reunion – Michael Johnson Invitational (Apr)
  • Baylor Night with the Texas Rangers (Jun)
  • Houston-area Letterwinners Dinner at Champps, Houston, Texas (Jun)
  • Big Cat’s Fishing Trip, Galveston, Texas (Jun)
  • Football Game Day Tailgate and Lounge Events (Sep-Dec)
  • 6th Annual Dutch Schroeder Bear Claw Golf Classic (Oct)2015 Baylor Athletic Hall of Fame & Wall of Honor Banquet (Oct)
  • ESPN College Game Day Tailgate Event (Nov)
  • General Membership Meeting (Dec)
  • Student Athlete Gift Night (Dec)
  • Baylor Letterwinners Bowl Celebration Russell Athletic Bowl, Orlando, Florida (Dec)


The Board of Directors for 2015:

At the 2015 General Membership meeting on Saturday, December 5th, our membership approved the following officers and directors:

President- Mr. Don Riddle (baseball), President-Elect- Mr. Dusty Sanderson (trainer/mgr.), Vice President- *Mr. Pat Combs (baseball), Treasurer- *Mr. Phil Duren (track), Past-President- Mrs. Debbie Mann (track).

Mr. Bill Bain (baseball), *Mr. Ken Buckley (football), *Mrs. Kathy Childers (volleyball), Mr. Jeff Cunningham (track), Mr. Brad Goebel (football), *Mr. Ted Gillum (football, track), Ms. Chanelle Fox (W. basketball), Mr. Rick Fox (baseball), *Mr. Mike Johnson (football, track), Mr. David Jones (football),  *Mr. Neil Luft (trainer/mgr), Mr. Larry Smith (baseball), Mr. Ralph Stockemer (football), and Mr. Darrell Ward (track).

*=New Officers/Directors

As we welcome our new officers and directors, we owe a debt of gratitude to those who will complete their terms of service on December 31, 2015.  They are:  Mr. Mike Beaty (football), Mr. Bill Duncan (baseball), Mr. Jonathan Sisk (football), Mr. Micheal Williams (basketball), Mr. Burl Coker (baseball), Dr. Ron Evans (football), and Mr. Pat Combs (Pat will begin serving as Vice President in 2016).  We are a better letterwinners organization today because of these talented individuals.  We encourage them to stay involved as their knowledge of the “B” Association and experience on the board will be vital to us as we move forward.


Acknowledgments & Appreciation:

Please join me in thanking Mr. Burl Coker for his outstanding service as “B” Association treasurer over the past 10 years. To volunteer with an organization for 10 consecutive years is an amazing accomplishment.  It takes a special person to demonstrate that level of commitment.  Thank you, Burl.  Finally, I would be remiss if I failed to thank our loyal and dedicated staff members Tammy Hardin and Lauren Dalley.  These two ladies consistently go the extra mile to “get the job done.“  They both work very hard and they are terrific team members.

In closing, while we celebrate the successes of the past year, let us be reminded that there is still much work to do. Let’s all come together and work to become the strongest, most active letterwinners association in the nation. We can do it, but it will take your active involvement to make it happen. Encourage your teammates who are not active members to join today and become a part of the great things in store for us in 2016.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!


Walt's signature

Walter Abercrombie
Executive Director, Baylor “B” Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *