Baylor All-American Thomas Everett Selected to 2015 SWC Hall of Fame

Ceremony to be Held on Monday, October 5th, 2015

Everett1WACO, TX – August 10 2015 – The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) is proud to announce nine new members into its 2015 class of inductees for the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame: Norm DeBriyn (Arkansas), Thomas Everett (Baylor), Billy Ray Brown (Houston), Ricky Pierce (Rice), Kyle (O’Brien) Stevens (SMU), Carlette (Guidry) White (Texas), Anjanette Kirkland (Texas A&M), Darrell Browder (TCU) and Tracy Saul (Texas Tech).

Sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the Southwest Conference (SWC) Hall of Fame induction ceremony and luncheon will be held at the Doubletree by Hilton in downtown Dallas on Monday, October 5th, at 11:30 AM. Visit to reserve event tickets and to access sponsorship information.

“These players and coaches exemplify what made the Southwest Conference so great: They were tough, hard-working and represented their schools with pride,” said Jared Mosley, the President/CEO of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. “The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame exists because sports in the southwest is legendary, and it’s legendary because of athletes like these.”

The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame is one of four separate halls of fame housed within the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s physical structure. They include the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and now, the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame.

NS_03baylorBaylor – Thomas Everett
Everett attended Baylor University where he played under College legendary coach, Grant Teaff.  In his junior year he became one of the best defensive backs in the nation earning a two-time All-American selection, being named twice Southwest Conference Most Valuable Player and first team All-Conference.  He was voted the conference’s Athlete of the Year for the 1986-1987 school year. He ranks among Baylor’s top ten in career interceptions (12), tackles (325), punt returns (80) and punt return yards (766). He was a leader during one of the program’s most successful eras as the Bears won 30 games and appeared in three bowl games.  He was named to Baylor’s All-Decade of the 1980s Team  and was the first-ever winner of the Jim Thorpe Award in 1986 as the nation’s top defensive back.  He played 9 seasons in the NFL (Pittsburgh Steelers 1987–1991, Dallas Cowboys 1992–1993, Tampa Bay Buccaneers 1994–1995). As a member of the Dallas Cowboys he helped Dallas win 2 of their 3 Super Bowls in 1992 & 1993. In 2006, he was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *