Phi Beta Kappa initiates new Baylor members

Baylor University’s Zeta Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa initiated 16 new members during a ceremony Dec. 3, 2014, in Armstrong Browning Library.

PBK initiation fall 2014

Fall 2014 initiates who attended the ceremony include: Emily Ballard, a senior double major in journalism, public relations and new media and English from Kingwood; Ian Boys, a senior University Scholar major from Allen; Tyler Couch, a senior double major in biochemistry and Spanish from Norman, Okla.; Sarah Crockett, a senior double major in Arabic and Middle East studies and international studies; Erin Foster, a senior University Scholar major from Columbia, Mo.; Mariah Franklin, a senior professional writing major from Prescott, Ariz.; Rebecca Holden, a senior double major in chemistry and biology from Allen; Lauren Lee, a senior University Scholar major from Olathe, Kan.; Richa Manglorkar, a senior biology major from Flower Mound; T.J. Neathery, a senior University Scholar major from Dallas; Sarah Rabke, a graduate student in Spanish from San Antonio; Caroline Rogers, a senior international studies major from Nashville, Tenn.; Will Simmons, a senior neuroscience major from Ridgeland, Miss.; Stephen Spees, a senior psychology major from Colorado Springs, Colo.; Sarah Tucker, a junior medical humanities major from Houston; and Tori Waters, a senior University Scholar major from Kountze.

Other fall 2014 PBK initiates include Richard Baker, Brooke Ballengee, Matthew Corrigan, Justin Emerick, Masha Madani, Audrey Richardson, Amanda Rushing and Zachary Sharpe.

PBK Key Blue BackgroundPhi Beta Kappa , founded on Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va., is the nation’s oldest scholastic honor society, and the first American society to have a Greek letter name. Its purpose is to recognize and encourage scholarship in the liberal arts and sciences.

The Baylor University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta of Texas, was chartered in 1976 and is one of only eleven chapters in Texas. Baylor’s Zeta Chapter now lists more than 1,800 living members.



Front row (L to R): Rebecca Holden , Emily Ballard, Tori Waters, Sarah Rabke, Baylor President Ken Starr, Richa Manglorkar, Caroline Rogers, Lauren Lee, Mariah Franklin and Erin Foster

Back row (L to R): Sarah Crockett, Stephen Spees, Will Simmons, Sarah Tucker, T.J. Neathery, Tyler Couch and Ian Boys

Leave a Reply