Video Archives

Collins Outstanding Professor Award Lecture

April 21, 2015

2015 Collins Outstanding Professor Award recipient Dr. Mark Devan Jonklaas



“Making Learning More Meaningful”

By Britt Carr

Presented on April 20, 2015


A Conversation with Three Master Teachers:

April 15, 2015

A Conversation with Three Master Teachers from Baylor ATL on Vimeo.


Collins Outstanding Teacher Award:

Collins Outstanding Professor Award Lecture from Baylor ATL on Vimeo.

Cornelia Marschall Smith
2014 Dr. Roger Kirk

2014 Cornelia Marchall Smith recipient Dr. Roger Kirk was named the recipient of the Charles L. Brewer Distinguished Teaching of Psychology Award. This is the highest teaching award given by the American Psychological Association.

Dr. Charles Weaver, chair of the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience, writes:

“A number of Dr. Kirk’s former students and colleagues have written letters in support of his nomination. One theme that runs through these letters is Dr. Kirk’s humility, kindness, and dedication. His genuine love of the field of statistics and the enthusiasm with which he approaches teaching creates an ideal atmosphere for learning. He is tireless in working with students; they enter his class with utmost respect for his accomplishments, but leave with a genuine affection for him as well. Baylor University is an institution known for an unwavering commitment to undergraduate education. This reputation was forged over many decades by the dedication of Dr. Kirk and his colleagues, and Roger Kirk remains the embodiment of scholarly excellence. We cannot imagine a candidate more worthy of the honor of receiving the Charles L. Brewer Distinguished Teaching of Psychology Award.”

The ATL would like to congratulate Dr. Kirk on this very prestigious award.

Cornelia Marshall Smith Lecture: Dr. Roger E. Kirk from Baylor ATL on Vimeo.

2013 Dr. Bill Bellinger

Dr. Bellinger Lecture from Baylor ATL on Vimeo.

About: The annual Cornelia Marschall Smith Award is presented to a Baylor faculty member who makes a superlative contribution to the learning environment at Baylor. The Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year award is based on:

  • Teaching , which is judged to be of the highest order of intellectual acumen and pedagogical effectiveness,
  • Research , which is recognized as outstanding by the national and international, as well as local, community of scholars, and
  • Service , which is regarded as exemplary in building the character of intellectual community at Baylor.

Cherry Award
About: The Cherry Award program is designed to honor great teachers, to stimulate discussion in the academy about the value of teaching, and to encourage departments and institutions to value their own great teachers. The winner of the Cherry Award will receive a prize of $250,000 and will teach in residence at Baylor University during the 2014 fall or 2015 spring semester; travel expenses and a furnished apartment will be provided. To further Baylor University’s commitment to great teaching, the winner’s home department will receive $25,000.

Past Recipients:

Print Friendly
Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.